Rachel Hawkins/Erin Sterling

Journey’s End

A Middle-Grade Fantasy Adventure Novel

About the Book

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of Lisa Graff.

The town of Journey’s End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist father in the tiny Scottish village isn’t exactly Nolie’s idea of a good time, but she soon finds a friend: native Journey’s Ender Bel McKissick.

While Nolie’s father came to Journey’s End to study the Boundary–a mysterious fog bank offshore–Bel’s family can’t afford to consider it a threat. The McKissick’s livelihood depends on the tourists drawn by legends of a curse. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, going into the Boundary means you’ll never come back.

…Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns–without having aged a day and with no memory of the past hundred years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within.

While Nolie’s father wants to have the village evacuated, Bel’s parents lead the charge to stay in Journey’s End. Meanwhile, Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an ancient Scottish spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice.

Buy the Book

  • Buy on Apple Books
  • Buy for Kindle
  • Buy for Nook
  • Buy on Google Play
  • Buy on Indie Bound
  • Buy on Kobo
Journey's End audiobook by Rachel Hawkins

Audiobook

This book is also available on audiobook from the following online booksellers:

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Format: Unabridged
Runtime: 6h 34m

The Details

Published: October 25, 2016
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Formats: EbookPaperbackHardcoverAudiobook
ISBN-10: 0147512905 ISBN-13: 978-0147512901 ASIN: B01BK0WT70
Genres & Tropes
Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, Adventure, Detectives, Mystery, Science Fiction, Time Travel